by the side of the road…

on the side of the road

like my
soul’s core
my shoes
have filled
with ice water
my
winter jacket
has been
confiscated
by
an officer of
the law
who
was certain
that
it would be used
as evidence
for a crime
i might commit
i am
to wait here
i’ve
been assured
by soothsayers
of
biblical text
that my ride
will
arrive
so
i should disregard
that others
are given rides
before me
even though
i was
here
first
but
if society expects
that i should
say
thank you
for
this opportunity
to suffer
then
it is indeed
a cold day
in hell

5 thoughts on “by the side of the road…

  1. On a trip from Maryland my bother was stopped by the most handsome, neat and polite officer. My brother was speeding and was going to get a ticket. I had to remind my brother not to say thank you when the ticket was issued. I can relate.

Leave a Reply

