i didn’t miss your email…

i didn't miss your email

death is
a personal thing
it’s not like
you need
someone’s permission
to die
well
maybe turn
off a machine
or
something
but
it’s personal
no one can truly
dictate how you feel
when it arrives
some face it
bravely
others cower
in fear
some with
a scotch
or
beer
by their side
others
with a prayer-book
in hand
but
the point is
death
is
a personal things
your reactions
to my death
or
my imminent death
really
doesn’t matter
that’s
your
personal thing

12 thoughts on “i didn’t miss your email…

  1. Well, I beg to disagree. Death is a corporate thing, a God thing, and a personal thing all wrapped up together. Even if you have no relatives or loved ones when your time comes, the fact that everyone ignored you makes it a corporate matter. I have reason to believe that unless accident should take me while my family is not there (and even then), my children, grandchildren, a friend or two, a nurse, and a local pastor may be there to say good bye as I pass through the door into glory. Because I am a believer it will be glory; for many it will be hell. Either way it unavoidably a God thing since we have or have not dealt with God as we approach the gate. He has provided all we need which we have either accepted or rejected. He will be there to walk me through even as He is with me now in moments of fear and triumph, of which death is both to me. It is personal because no one of my fellowman can go through the passage with me, but I do not fear for that reason, but the possible pain just before it happens. The actual passage will be a release when all pain and sorrow and worry and the presence of sin is gone. Glory!

  2. You’re right, death is so very personal, to the most profound level imaginable. I will welcome death when it comes, as a natural transition and release into a more expanded state of consciousness. (Any fear comes from the possibility of suffering beforehand.) Thank you for this one, Charlie.

  3. Your title even hit me. I had a friend die so she never got my email. Now I am making sure if my friends dont answer I re-email or text them.
    Having gone through the death of my “dad” this year, it was a time of celebrating life.

Leave a Reply

